Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

  • Carnegie Hall Presents
  • ZH Zankel Hall
  • SA/PS Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
  • REW Resnick Education Wing
  • WRH Weill Recital Hall

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Friday, March 8, 2019 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
URL Copied
Yannick Nézet-Séguin by Jan Regan Photography, Jan Lisiecki by Holger Hage
Music from the tragically short lives of two great Romantic composers is featured. Mendelssohn’s concerto, composed when he was 22 years old, is filled with youthful high spirits, thrills with its bravura solo part, and sings with beautiful melody. Schubert’s “Great” Symphony, his last orchestral work, is colossal and imbued with flowing lyricism, propulsive energy, and tremendous emotion. Regrettably, Schubert never lived to hear the work, which anticipates the epic symphonies of Bruckner, Mahler, and beyond.

Part of: The Philadelphia Orchestra

The Philadelphia Orchestra is also performing November 13 and June 7.

Yannick Nézet-Séguin is also performing November 13, June 3June 7, and June 14.


The Philadelphia Orchestra
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Music Director and Conductor
Jan Lisiecki, Piano


NICO MUHLY Liar, Suite from Marnie (NY Premiere)
MENDELSSOHN Piano Concerto No. 1
SCHUBERT Symphony No. 9, "Great"

At a Glance

Earlier this season, the Metropolitan Opera presented the US premiere of American composer Nico Muhly’s sensational opera Marnie, based on Winston Graham’s novel and Alfred Hitchcock’s film. A few weeks before, The Philadelphia Orchestra offered the world premiere of its companion orchestral suite, Liar, which now comes to Carnegie Hall.

Already as a child, Felix Mendelssohn was recognized as someone with extraordinary gifts. At age 22, he unveiled his innovative Piano Concerto No. 1 during a benefit concert in Munich, which he conducted and performed as soloist. All went splendidly, as he reported to his parents: The event was “more brilliant and more fun than I had expected,” and the concerto “met with a long and vivid reception.”

Although Franz Schubert completed seven symphonies, and left others unfinished, he seems to have acknowledged just one as a fully mature work. The “Great” C-Major Symphony was a majestically bold statement from the 28-year-old composer, written in the shadow of Beethoven’s recent Ninth Symphony, and a work that displayed Schubert’s highest aspirations. Although it was not performed in public during his lifetime, the symphony was discovered by Robert Schumann on a visit to Vienna, and he gave it to Mendelssohn, who conducted the belated premiere in 1839.

Stay Up to Date