Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

  • Carnegie Hall Presents
  • ZH Zankel Hall
  • SA/PS Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
  • REW Resnick Education Wing
  • WRH Weill Recital Hall

Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin
Lambert Orkis, Piano

Tuesday, March 12, 2019 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
URL Copied
Anne-Sophie Mutter by Stefan Höderath / DG
Anne-Sophie Mutter’s mastery of a vast range of repertoire makes this a recital essential. She performs one of Mozart’s finest violin sonatas, a work flowing with melody and a central Andante that charts adventurous harmonic territory. Always one to push the harmonic envelope, Debussy’s sonata is marvelously inventive and full of life, while Poulenc’s is laced with tragedy, especially in its grieving outer movements. Passionately committed to the music of our time, Mutter is also joined by close collaborators for the premieres of two works by award-winning composers.


Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin
Lambert Orkis, Piano

Ye-Eun Choi, Violin
Daniel Müller-Schott, Cello


UNSUK CHIN Gran Cadenza for Two Violins (World Premiere)
DEBUSSY Violin Sonata
SEBASTIAN CURRIER Ghost Trio (World Premiere)
MOZART Violin Sonata in B-flat Major, K. 454
POULENC Violin Sonata

Have you heard?

Debussy’s Violin Sonata 

Debussy was planning to write a cycle of six sonatas for various instruments, but failing health forced him to conclude the project with what proved to be his final work, the Violin Sonata. Despite the circumstances, its three brief movements are marvelously inventive and full of life. Debussy summons a world of emotion: The sonata’s opening pages move from the melancholy to the tempestuous, the jaunty central movement dances, and the exuberant finale soars to ecstatic heights.

Stay Up to Date