Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

  • Carnegie Hall Presents
  • ZH Zankel Hall
  • SA/PS Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
  • REW Resnick Education Wing
  • WRH Weill Recital Hall

Hagen Quartet

Thursday, March 28, 2019 8:30 PM Zankel Hall
URL Copied
Hagan Quartet by Harald Hoffmann
Great string quartets engage in many different ways, from the brief, tightly connected motifs of Webern, to the epic scale of Beethoven, to the lyrical expressiveness of Schubert. There's a melancholy mood throughout much of Schubert's quartet—a work that features the famous songlike second movement. Beethoven’s quartet is a stupendous display of craftsmanship, with each of the work’s seven sections flowing one to the other without pause. The epic journey leads the listener to new tonalities, fugal writing to rival Bach’s, and Beethoven’s quintessential shifts from fury, to tenderness, to jollity.

Please note the updated start time of this performance.

Part of: Chamber Sessions II


Hagen Quartet
·· Lukas Hagen, Violin
·· Rainer Schmidt, Violin
·· Veronika Hagen, Viola
·· Clemens Hagen, Cello


SCHUBERT String Quartet in A Minor, "Rosamunde"
WEBERN Five Movements, Op. 5
BEETHOVEN String Quartet in C-sharp Minor, Op. 131

Have you heard?

Schubert’s String Quartet in A Minor, “Rosamunde” 

The quartet’s “Rosamunde” nickname and a theme in its beautiful second movement are rooted in Schubert’s incidental music for a play of the same name. String quartet–playing was a Schubert family pastime, and in his early quartets a genial tone prevails, but with the “Rosamunde” a more expressive style takes root. A melancholy mood is present throughout, but the songful second movement and country-dance theme in the finale lighten the spirits in this moving quartet.

Stay Up to Date