Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.


Carnegie Hall’s Opening Night Gala
The Cleveland Orchestra

Thursday, October 3, 2019 7 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
URL Copied
Franz Welser-Möst by Julia Wesely, Anne-Sophie Mutter by Harald Hoffmann / DG, Lynn Harrell by Andrew Stuart, Yefim Bronfman by Dario Acosta
There’s no better way to start your musical year than with the stunning musicianship and glamour of Carnegie's Hall Opening Night Gala. The Beethoven anniversary season gets off to a rousing start when an all-star trio joins The Cleveland Orchestra, conducted by Franz Welser-Möst, for the master’s Triple Concerto. This rarely heard work fascinates with its intricate interplay between soloists and amiable tone. This musical trip to old Vienna is rounded out by the richly orchestrated and deliciously melodic Concert Suite of Strauss's Der Rosenkavalier.

Part of: Beethoven Celebration

Gala reservations are now open. See details below.

The Cleveland Orchestra is also performing October 4.

Anne-Sophie Mutter is also performing January 30 and June 12.

Yefim Bronfman is also performing October 4 and April 21.


The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, Music Director and Conductor
Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin
Lynn Harrell, Cello
Yefim Bronfman, Piano


NICOLAI Overture to The Merry Wives of Windsor

BEETHOVEN Triple Concerto

BEETHOVEN Romance for Violin and Orchestra in G Major

R. STRAUSS Der Rosenkavalier Concert Suite

Gala Details

Event Leadership

Gala Lead Chairmen
Mercedes T. Bass
Hope and Robert F. Smith

Gala Chairmen Committee
Annette de la Renta
Sana H. Sabbagh
Beatrice Santo Domingo
S. Donald Sussman

Corporate Chairmen
Dennis M. Nally
Retired Chairman, PricewaterhouseCoopers International Ltd.
Roy Weathers
Vice Chairman and US Tax Leader, PricewaterhouseCoopers International Ltd. 

Event Details

Your choice of either:

5:30 PM Cocktail Reception
Rohatyn Room, Carnegie Hall

7 PM Concert
Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage, Carnegie Hall


7 PM Concert
8:30 PM Gala Dinner
Cipriani 42nd Street

Black Tie

Event Reservations

Reserve online using the Gala RSVP link in the upper–right-hand corner of this page or contact the Carnegie Hall Special Events office at 212-903-9679.

Individual tickets include prime seating for the concert and entry to either the pre-concert cocktail reception ($1,000) or the post-concert gala dinner (starting at $1,500). Tables (starting at $20,000) include the best seating for the concert and a table at the post-concert gala dinner.

All ticket and table prices include a partially tax-deductible donation that benefits Carnegie Hall’s artistic and music education programming.

Please note that exact seating assignments for the concert and dinner will not be determined until the month of the event. We regret that benefit tickets are nonrefundable and cannot be exchanged.


Opening Night Gala Lead Sponsor: PwC

In honor of the centenary of his birth, Carnegie Hall’s 2019–2020 season is dedicated to the memory of Isaac Stern in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to Carnegie Hall, arts advocacy, and the field of music.

Stay Up to Date