Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.


The Cleveland Orchestra

Friday, October 4, 2019 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
URL Copied
Franz Welser-Möst by Roger Mastroianni, Yefim Bronfman by Frank Stewart
Enjoy an opportunity to hear a unique composition performed by the artist for whom it was written. Jörg Widmann composed his Trauermarsch (Funeral March) for Yefim Bronfman, and this lushly scored concerto showcases the pianist’s remarkable skills. A funeral march opens Mahler’s symphony, but it’s only one episode in a work that pulses with life, features an exquisite musical love letter to his wife, and—as Mahler believed— embraces the world.

Part of: Orchestral Masterworks and Jörg Widmann

The Cleveland Orchestra is also performing October 3.

Yefim Bronfman is also performing October 3 and April 21.


The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, Music Director and Conductor
Yefim Bronfman, Piano


JÖRG WIDMANN Trauermarsch

MAHLER Symphony No. 5

Jörg Widmann is the holder of the 2019–2020 Richard and Barbara Debs Composer's Chair at Carnegie Hall.

In honor of the centenary of his birth, Carnegie Hall’s 2019–2020 season is dedicated to the memory of Isaac Stern in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to Carnegie Hall, arts advocacy, and the field of music.

Stay Up to Date