Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.


Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Saturday, November 9, 2019 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
URL Copied
Mariss Jansons by Astrid Ackermann, Rudolf Buchbinder by Marco Borggreve
A heroic overture and sublime concerto set the stage for an intense symphony. Weber uses several quotes from his opera in a thrilling curtain raiser, while Mozart’s concerto delights with gorgeous melodies. Shostakovich’s symphony reflects on his precarious life in Stalin’s Soviet Union with music that is viscerally powerful. Both men are portrayed in the symphony: the former in a motif that cryptically spelled out initials of his name and the latter in the savage second movement. Ultimately, there is victory as Shostakovich outlived the dictator and dances in a triumphant finale.

Part of: Concertos Plus

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra is also performing November 8.


Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Mariss Jansons, Chief Conductor
Rudolf Buchbinder, Piano


WEBER Overture to Euryanthe

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major, K. 488

SHOSTAKOVICH Symphony No. 10

In honor of the centenary of his birth, Carnegie Hall’s 2019–2020 season is dedicated to the memory of Isaac Stern in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to Carnegie Hall, arts advocacy, and the field of music.

Stay Up to Date