Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.


Irish Chamber Orchestra

Tuesday, November 19, 2019 7:30 PM Zankel Hall
URL Copied
Irish Chamber Orchestra
Hear unique explorations of a classic Baroque form and clarinet fireworks. The fugue (imitation of a theme in simultaneously sounding melodic lines) enjoyed its heyday in the Baroque era, but Mozart’s deeply expressive Adagio and Fugue in C Minor took it to new heights, as did Mendelssohn in the finale of his Mozart-inspired Sinfonia No. 8. Jörg Widmann’s stunningly original Versuch über die Fuge honors and deconstructs the form—all at once! Widmann also plays high-speed runs, dizzying lines, and more in Weber’s Clarinet Quintet, a delightful mini-concerto.

Part of: Chamber Sessions III and Jörg Widmann


Irish Chamber Orchestra
Jörg Widmann, Principal Conductor and Clarinet
Claron McFadden, Soprano


MENDELSSOHN Sinfonia No. 8 in D Major

JÖRG WIDMANN Versuch über die Fuge

MOZART Adagio and Fugue in C Minor, K. 546

JÖRG WIDMANN 180 beats per minute

WEBER Quintet for Clarinet and Strings, Op. 34

Jörg Widmann is the holder of the 2019–2020 Richard and Barbara Debs Composer's Chair at Carnegie Hall.

In honor of the centenary of his birth, Carnegie Hall’s 2019–2020 season is dedicated to the memory of Isaac Stern in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to Carnegie Hall, arts advocacy, and the field of music.

Stay Up to Date