Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Presented by American Symphony Orchestra

American Symphony Orchestra

Thursday, March 12, 2020 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
URL Copied
Photo by Matt Dine
The American Symphony Orchestra celebrates the genre-defying genius of Duke Ellington with an evening including two world premiere arrangements by Marcus Roberts of “New World A-Comin’” and “Three Black Kings” for jazz trio and large orchestra. The orchestra performs Ellington’s iconic music on the stage of Carnegie Hall, where he played a series of annual concerts and premiered many of his greatest works, including “Black, Brown, and Beige” and “Night Creature.”
Student and Senior Discount Tickets Available at the Box Office


American Symphony Orchestra
Leon Botstein, Conductor
Marcus Roberts Trio
··Marcus Roberts, Piano
··Rodney Jordan, Bass
··Jason Marsalis, Drums
Special Guest: Catherine Russell, Singer



"Three Black Kings" (arr. Marcus Roberts; World Premiere)

"New World a-Comin'" (arr. Marcus Roberts; World Premiere)

"Satin Doll"


"Sophisticated Lady"

"Night Creature" for Jazz Band and Orchestra

"Black, Brown, and Beige Suite"

Event Duration

The program will last approximately two hours and 20 minutes, including one 20-minute intermission.

Pre-Concert Talk

Pre-Concert Talk at 7 PM

Event Information

By clicking the link below, you will be leaving the Carnegie Hall website.

Stay Up to Date