Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Event is Live

Cancelled: Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Mitsuko Uchida, Piano and Director

Saturday, March 28, 2020 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Mitsuko Uchida by Geoffroy Schied
Jörg Widmann’s chamber orchestra arrangement of his Choralquartett mesmerizes with daring textures and tonalities, framed by two Mozart piano concertos. It’s quite a magnificent frame because the pianist is Mitsuko Uchida, who plays and conducts from the keyboard. The Chicago Sun-Times has written of the legendary artist, “Uchida’s remarkable approach to the piano—with her ability to shift the weight and meaning of any line of music in the most brilliant and seamless ways—is a given.”

Part of: Jörg Widmann

There is a limit of 8 tickets per household. Additional orders exceeding the ticket limit may be cancelled without notice. This includes orders associated with the same name, email address, billing address, credit card number and/or other information.

Pick four concerts and save now.

Mitsuko Uchida is also performing April 7.


Mahler Chamber Orchestra
Mitsuko Uchida, Piano and Director
Meesun Hong Coleman, Concertmaster and Leader


MOZART Piano Concerto No. 17 in G Major, K. 453

JÖRG WIDMANN Choralquartett (arr. for chamber orchestra; NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 22 in E-flat Major, K. 482

Event Duration

The printed program will last approximately two hours, including one 20-minute intermission.
Jörg Widmann: Richard and Barbara Debs Composer's Chair

The Trustees of Carnegie Hall gratefully acknowledge the generosity of Simon Yates and Kevin Roon in support of the 2019-2020 season.

Support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.

Jörg Widmann is the holder of the 2019–2020 Richard and Barbara Debs Composer's Chair at Carnegie Hall.

In honor of the centenary of his birth, Carnegie Hall’s 2019–2020 season is dedicated to the memory of Isaac Stern in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to Carnegie Hall, arts advocacy, and the field of music.

At a Glance

This evening’s concert contrasts chamber orchestra works from the late 18th century with music from our own time inspired by that period. Mitsuko Uchida plays two of Mozart’s great piano concertos, nos. 17 and 22, from the peak years of his production of these keyboard masterpieces. Though Jörg Widmann stresses his deep connection to the Austro-German Classical and Romantic traditions, his Choralquartett—newly orchestrated for chamber orchestra—bears little resemblance to these earlier works on the surface. Mr. Widmann explains, however, that Haydn’s Seven Last Words was its catalyst. The agony of crucifixion is explored here in a variety of sounds that Haydn and Mozart could have never imagined.

Stay Up to Date