Connect with Us

Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.


American Composers Orchestra

The Natural Order
Thursday, April 2, 2020 7:30 PM Zankel Hall
URL Copied
George Manahan by Nan Melville
The complicated relationship between humankind and the natural world is depicted in three innovative works. Nina C. Young’s Out of whose womb came the ice depicts Ernest Shackleton’s daring expedition to Antarctica in music and video, while Pulitzer Prize–winning composer John Luther Adams’s Become River is one chapter of his ongoing series of pieces that explore desert, mountain, tundra, and other landscapes and waterscapes. Mark Adamo’s cello concerto is an apocalyptic Four Seasons with Adamo celebrating and mourning four extreme landscapes: Glacier, Desert, Space, and Floodplain.

Part of: Zankel Sampler I

American Composers Orchestra is also performing November 13.


American Composers Orchestra
George Manahan, Music Director and Conductor
David Tinervia, Baritone
Jeffrey Zeigler, Cello


JOHN LUTHER ADAMS Become River (NY Premiere)

MARK ADAMO Last Year Concerto for Cello and String Orchestra (World Premiere)

NINA C. YOUNG Out of whose womb came the ice (expanded version; World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

Support for the 125 Commissions Project is provided by members of Carnegie Hall's Composer Club.

In honor of the centenary of his birth, Carnegie Hall’s 2019–2020 season is dedicated to the memory of Isaac Stern in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to Carnegie Hall, arts advocacy, and the field of music.

Stay Up to Date