Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Event is Live

Cancelled: Yefim Bronfman, Piano

Tuesday, April 21, 2020 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Yefim Bronfman by Dario Acosta
Beethoven confronts the traditions of his forebears in three youthful sonatas, while another boldly proclaims a new age. The Op. 10 sonatas were written in the 18th century, but pack a dramatic punch that would have stunned his musical predecessors. Less than a decade later, Beethoven was wrestling with deafness as he composed the “Appassionata.” The emotional turmoil is reflected in its stormy opening, sweet repose of its central movement, and roaring, storming finale.

Part of: Beethoven Celebration


Yefim Bronfman, Piano



Piano Sonata No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 10, No. 1

Piano Sonata No. 6 in F Major, Op. 10, No. 2

Piano Sonata No. 7 in D Major, Op. 10, No. 3

Piano Sonata No. 23 in F Minor, "Appassionata"

Lead support for the Beethoven Celebration is provided by The Morris and Alma Schapiro Fund.

National Endowment for the Arts: arts.gov

Public support is provided by the National Endowment for the Arts.

In honor of the centenary of his birth, Carnegie Hall’s 2019–2020 season is dedicated to the memory of Isaac Stern in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to Carnegie Hall, arts advocacy, and the field of music.

Stay Up to Date