Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Event is Live

Cancelled: Hagen Quartet

Saturday, February 20, 2021 7:30 PM Zankel Hall
Hagen Quartet by Harald Hoffmann
Mozart wrote his final string quartets with the hope of reward from the amateur cellist Friedrich Wilhelm II, King of Prussia. The two quartets are refined works with abundant melodies and, in the last, several cello solos. Unfortunately, the King provided no recompense. Shostakovich had a more grateful dedicatee for his quartet: his wife, Irina. The five movements have symphonic breadth, flowing seamlessly with shifts from tenderness to tragedy, including references to Jewish klezmer music in the final movement.

Part of: Chamber Sessions II


Hagen Quartet
·· Lukas Hagen, Violin
·· Rainer Schmidt, Violin
·· Veronika Hagen, Viola
·· Clemens Hagen, Cello


MOZART String Quartet in B-flat Major, K. 589, "Prussian"

SHOSTAKOVICH String Quartet No. 9

MOZART String Quartet in F Major, K. 590

Listen on Apple Music

Stay Up to Date