Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Event is Live

Cancelled: American Composers Orchestra

Tuesday, April 20, 2021 7:30 PM Zankel Hall
George Manahan by Richard Bowditch, Jennifer Koh by Jürgen Frank
Violinist Jennifer Koh’s ongoing exploration of “The New American Concerto” provides the impetus for works by Christopher Cerrone and Lisa Bielawa. Koh’s initiative encourages composers to engage with the issues of the day and respond to them with a violin concerto. Cerrone’s “Breaks and Breaks” features intense dialogues between solo violin and orchestra as they comment on current affairs. Bielawa’s work meditates on the word sanctuary and its significance in the American consciousness. It’s also a deeply personal work with moving quotations of Chopin and Bach—music where Bielawa finds her own sanctuary.


American Composers Orchestra
George Manahan, Music Director and Conductor
Jennifer Koh, Violin


CHRISTOPHER CERRONE Violin Concerto, "Breaks and Breaks" (NY Premiere)

CARLOS BANDERA New Work (World Premiere)

LISA BIELAWA Sanctuary (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

Stay Up to Date