Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Event is Live
Carnegie Hall Presents

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Tuesday, April 25, 2023 8 PM Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Andris Nelsons by Marco Borggreve, Anne-Sophie Mutter by Japan Art Association / Sankei Shimbun, Golda Schultz by Dario Acosta
The Boston Symphony Orchestra returns with Anne-Sophie Mutter—“the undisputed queen of violin-playing” (The Times, London)—in a program that includes the New York premiere of Thomas Adès’s Air for Violin and Orchestra, composed specifically for Mutter. The concert also features two notable Sibelius works, including the infrequently performed yet well-loved Luonnotar, with its notoriously demanding vocal part, which tells of the world’s creation over the course of 10 stunning minutes. The composition of Sibelius’s Fifth Symphony is its own tale of personal and societal strife, and highly memorable for its moments of great, yet unresolved, triumph.

Part of: Great American Orchestras


Boston Symphony Orchestra
Andris Nelsons, Music Director and Conductor
Anne-Sophie Mutter, Violin
Golda Schultz, Soprano


SIBELIUS Luonnotar

THOMAS ADÈS Air for Violin and Orchestra (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

SIBELIUS Symphony No. 5

Listen to Selected Works


Sponsored by KPMG LLP

Stay Up to Date