Performance Friday, April 26, 2013 | 7:30 PM

Till Fellner

Zankel Hall
The New York Times has described Till Fellner’s playing as “thoughtful and surprising”—that he is “turning out to be one of the great musical chameleons.” In this recital, Fellner presents Schumann’s poignant Symphonic Etudes, as well as sonatas by Haydn and Mozart, and music by Bach.


  • Till Fellner, Piano


  • BACH Prelude and Fugue in C Major from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II, BWV 870
  • BACH Prelude and Fugue in C Minor from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II, BWV 871
  • BACH Prelude and Fugue in C-sharp Major from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II, BWV 872
  • BACH Prelude and Fugue in C-sharp Minor from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II, BWV 873
  • MOZART Sonata in F Major, K. 533 / K. 494
  • HAYDN Sonata in B Minor, Hob. XVI: 32
  • SCHUMANN Symphonic Etudes, Op. 13

  • Encore:
  • BACH Sarabande from English Suite No. 2 in A Minor, BWV 807


  • Till Fellner

    Austrian pianist Till Fellner returns to North America this month to perform solo recitals at Carnegie Hall and San Francisco Performances, and with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal under the baton of Kent Nagano.

    In America, his recent and upcoming engagements include performances with the Boston, Chicago, Montreal, Pittsburgh, San Francisco, and Vancouver symphony orchestras. In Europe, Mr. Fellner performs recitals at Vienna's Konzerthaus and London's Wigmore Hall, as well as in Brussels, Paris, and Manchester. During February and March, he performed Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 3 with the Residentie Orkest and David Afkham in The Hague and Amsterdam, and with Le Concert Olympique under the direction of Jan Caeyers. He was heard as soloist in Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 24 in C Minor, K. 491, with the Vienna Chamber Orchestra conducted by Sir Neville Marriner.

    In June, he will present the world premiere of Harrison Birtwistle's Songs from the Same Earth at the Aldeburgh Festival with longtime collaborator tenor Mark Padmore. He also releases a recording of Birtwistle's chamber music on the ECM label later this year.

    Other orchestral engagements include concerts with the SWR Sinfonieorchester, Camerata Salzburg, Musikkollegium Winterthur, and Orchestre National de France. Mr. Fellner will tour with the Belcea Quartet, with performances at the Schubertiade Schwarzenberg, Cheltenham Festival, Birmingham Town Hall, and Wigmore Hall. His festival engagements include solo recitals at the Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, and Carinthian Summer Music Festival.

    Mr. Fellner's acclaimed discography includes his celebrated 2004 release of Bach's The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I, on ECM, as well as a subsequent recording of Bach's two- and three-part inventions. ECM has recently released his recording of Beethoven's Fourth and Fifth piano concertos with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal led by conductor Kent Nagano.

    More Info


Bach's Prelude in B flat Minor BWV 867
Till Fellner

At a Glance

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH  Preludes and Fugues from The Well-Tempered Clavier, Book II

Tonight's program presents the first four preludes and fugues from Book II of The Well-Tempered Clavier, Bach's monumental and massively influential work that progresses through every key.

WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART  Piano Sonata in F Major, K. 533 / K. 494

Mozart's 15th sonata is one of the first works he composed in the court of Emperor Joseph II. Its final movement is a revised version of a stand-alone Rondo that he had written two years earlier.

JOSEPH HAYDN  Piano Sonata in B Minor, Hob. XVI: 32

One of the few Haydn piano works cast in a minor key, the B-Minor Sonata is the turbulent conclusion to his 1776 collection of six sonatas.

ROBERT SCHUMANN  Symphonic Etudes, Op. 13

Initiated during Schumann's brief (and abortive) engagement to Ernestine von Fricken, the Symphonic Etudes are an impressive display of virtuosity and technical demand set in a theme-and-variations framework.

Program Notes
This concert is made possible, in part, by the A.L. and Jennie L. Luria Foundation.
This performance is part of Keyboard Virtuosos III: Keynotes.