Carnegie Hall creates the Richard and Barbara Debs Composer’s Chair as a four-year appointment, and selects Ellen Taaffe Zwilich as the first honoree.

Today, Carnegie Hall chooses a Debs chair each season, celebrating its composer-in-residences with premieres and performances of their works.

Photo of Ellen Taaffe Zwilich by Steve J. Sherman/ Carnegie Hall Archives 

Next entry: 1998 Buena Vista Social Club performs at Carnegie Hall