• Kaija Saariaho with Anssi Karttunen: New Works for Solo Strings

    Internationally renowned composer Kaija Saariaho and acclaimed cellist Anssi Karttunen, who has premiered a number of Saariaho's solo and chamber works, guide six composers and seven string players through the collaborative process, from a composition's conception to its first performance. World premieres of six resulting new works were held in Carnegie Hall's Zankel Hall on March 12, 2012, along with the US premieres of Kaija Saariaho's Aure and Cloud Trio. As part of the workshop, the string players also participated in a master class devoted to Saariaho's own works for strings.

  • Participating Workshop Composers and their Works:

    Jenny Beck: The Tide Will Take You
    Louis Chiappetta: Loops, Clocks, and Shadow
    Edmund Finnis: Relative Colour
    Ursula Kwong-Brown: Adunamentum
    Anna Pidgorna: The child, bringer of light
    Chris Williams: San-Shih-Fan

    Participating Workshop String Players:

    Aisha Orazbayeva, Violin
    Sarah Saviet, Violin
    Emily Deans, Viola
    Anna Pelczer, Viola
    Paul Dwyer, Cello
    Mira Luxion, Cello
    Tony Flynt, Bass

  • Click "Playlist" on player to see full video list.