Carnegie Hall Presents

Great Artists II Mini

October 27, 2010
Yo-Yo Ma
Kathryn Stott
February 21, 2011
Dmitri Hvorostovsky
Ivari Ilja
March 12, 2011
Emerson String Quartet
Sir James Galway

Yo-Yo Ma
Kathryn Stott

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Wednesday, October 27, 2010 | 8 PM


Kathryn Stott, Piano
Yo-Yo Ma, Cello


SCHUBERT Sonata in A Minor, D. 821, "Arpeggione"
SHOSTAKOVICH Sonata in D Minor, Op. 40
PIAZZOLLA Le Grand Tango
EGBERTO GISMONTI / CARNEIRO Bodas de Prata and Quatro Canto (arr. Gismonti)
FRANCK Violin Sonata in A Major

ELGAR Salut d'amour, Op. 12
FALLA Polo from Siete canciones populares españolas
SAINT-SAËNS The Swan from Carnival of the Animals

Program is approximately 2 hours, including one intermission
Yo-Yo Ma is incomparable. No musician has shown more commitment to exploring a whole range of musical cultures—and none has done it with more skill and artistry. In this program, Ma takes you through 19th-century Vienna and Paris, Soviet Russia, Argentina, and contemporary Brazil—all with Kathryn Stott, “an excellent soulmate for Ma” (The Times).

Dmitri Hvorostovsky
Ivari Ilja

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Monday, February 21, 2011 | 8 PM


Dmitri Hvorostovsky, Baritone
Ivari Ilja, Piano


FAURÉ "Automne," Op. 18, No. 3
FAURÉ "Sylvie," Op. 6, No. 3
FAURÉ "Après un rêve," Op. 7, No. 1
FAURÉ "Fleur jetée," Op. 39, No. 2
TANEYEV "People Sleep," Op. 17, No. 10
TANEYEV "Menuet," Op. 26, No. 9
TANEYEV "The Winter Road," Op. 32, No. 4
TANEYEV "Stalactites," Op. 26, No. 6
TANEYEV "The Restless Heart is Beating," Op. 17, No. 9
LISZT "I' vidi in terra angelici costumi"
LISZT "Pace non trovo"
TCHAIKOVSKY Six Romances, Op. 73
·· We Sat Together
·· Night
·· On this Moonlit Night
·· The Sun has Set
·· Amid Sombre Days
·· Again, as Before, Alone

RACHMANINOFF "In the Silence of the Secret Night"
TRAD. "Core'n grato"
TRAD. "Farewell, Happiness"

Program is approximately 1 hour, 30 minutes, including one intermission
This is a singer with amazing artistry. Hear him sing works by Liszt, Fauré, Taneyev, and Tchaikovsky.


Tchaikovsky “Oh, if you could only,” Op. 38, No. 4

Dmitri Hvorostovsky, Baritone / Mikhail Arkadiev, Piano
Audio Clips and Excerpts - Carnegie Hall's 2010-2011 Season

Emerson String Quartet
Sir James Galway

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Saturday, March 12, 2011 | 8 PM


Emerson String Quartet
·· Eugene Drucker, Violin
·· Philip Setzer, Violin
·· Lawrence Dutton, Viola
·· David Finckel, Cello
Sir James Galway, Flute


MOZART Flute Quartet in D Major, K.285
THOMAS ADÈS The Four Quarters (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
FOOTE A Night Piece
DEBUSSY String Quartet in G Minor

DVORÁK When Thy Sweet Glances, No. 3 from Cypresses
BACH Badinerie from Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B Minor, BWV 1067
This is a meeting of musical legends. Galway is both an exemplary artist and a master showman, “a model of how to handle both a flute and an audience” (The Washington Post). Time, echoing the sentiments of most chamber-music fans, has called the Emerson “America’s greatest quartet.” Each performs separately, in addition to joining forces in music by Mozart and Foote.


Debussy Syrinx

James Galway, Flute 
RCA Victor Red Seal