Carnegie Hall Presents

Piano, Violin, and Opera Sampler

Carnegie Hall’s tradition of hosting stunning virtuosos continues with Emanuel Ax performing Beethoven’s “Emperor” Concerto, James Ehnes playing Mendelssohn, and a concert performance of Strauss’s Salome with a cast led by Nina Stemme and Eric Owens.
December 8, 2011
London Philharmonic Orchestra
February 14, 2012
The Philadelphia Orchestra
May 24, 2012
The Cleveland Orchestra

London Philharmonic Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Thursday, December 8, 2011 | 8 PM


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski, Principal Conductor
Emanuel Ax, Piano


BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat Major, "Emperor"
TCHAIKOVSKY Manfred Symphony, Op. 58

SCHUBERT Impromptu in A-flat Major, D. 935, No. 2
TCHAIKOVSKY Pas de deux from Act II from The Nutcracker
Together, Vladimir Jurowski and the London Philharmonic Orchestra perform Tchaikovsky’s Manfred Symphony with “a white-knuckle tension and a real sense of a wild and tragic story recounted with enthralling detail, vivid color, and pace” (The Times, London). With Beethoven’s “Emperor” Concerto, performed by pianist Emanuel Ax, also on the program, this will be an evening of epic proportions.


Tchaikovsky Manfred Symphony (Allegro con fuoco)

London Philharmonic Orchestra; Vladimir Jurowski, Conductor

The Philadelphia Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Tuesday, February 14, 2012 | 8 PM


The Philadelphia Orchestra
Charles Dutoit, Chief Conductor
James Ehnes, Violin


MARTIN Concerto for Seven Wind Instruments
MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto
BARTÓK Concerto for Orchestra

NICOLÒ PAGANINI Caprice No. 16 in G Minor
For James Ehnes, Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto is a piece that exemplifies “so quintessentially who he was as a composer … once he found his voice, that voice was perfect.” Ehnes brings this exemplary work of youthful 19th-century genius to Carnegie Hall with The Philadelphia Orchestra. As one of the world’s great ensembles, the orchestra showcases its own virtuosity in Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra.


Mendelssohn Concerto in E Minor for Violin and Orchestra (Allegro molto appassionato)

Philadelphia Orchestra; Eugene Ormandy, Conductor; Isaac Stern, Violin 

The Cleveland Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Thursday, May 24, 2012 | 8 PM


The Cleveland Orchestra
Franz Welser-Möst, Music Director and Conductor
Nina Stemme, Soprano (Salome)
Eric Owens, Bass-Baritone (Jochanaan)
Rudolf Schasching, Tenor (Herod)
Jane Henschel, Mezzo-Soprano (Herodias)
Garrett Sorenson, Tenor (Narraboth)

Cast also includes:
Jennifer Johnson Cano
Rodell Rosel, Tenor
Matthew Plenk, Tenor
Bryan Griffin, Tenor
James Kryshak, Tenor
Brian Keith-Johnson, Baritone
Sam Handley, Bass-Baritone
Darren Stokes, Bass-Baritone
Evan Boyer, Bass


R. STRAUSS Salome, Op. 54 (concert performance)
In Salome, Strauss set a scandalous libretto to some of the most incendiary and ingenious music in opera. This concert performance is a rare opportunity to hear one of music history’s most revolutionary works played by one of the world’s best orchestras, with reigning stars of the opera house Nina Stemme and Eric Owens in the lead roles.


R. Strauss's Salome (Final Scene)

Royal Opera House Orchestra Covent Garden | Antonio Pappano, Conductor | Nina Stemme, Soprano