Carnegie Hall Presents

Modern Virtuosos - Students

Some of the most respected instrumentalists of our time perform with great orchestras in works from Brahms to Terry Riley on this series of three concerts. The Boston Symphony Orchestra is joined by pianist Murray Perahia for a performance of Schumann’s Piano Concerto. The Kronos Quartet returns with several special guests to celebrate its 40th anniversary, performing commissioned works by favorite composers and collaborators. And finally, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra welcomes violinist Gil Shaham for Berg’s Violin Concerto.
February 11, 2014
Boston Symphony Orchestra
March 28, 2014
Kronos Quartet and Friends
May 18, 2014
Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Boston Symphony Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Tuesday, February 11, 2014 | 8 PM


Boston Symphony Orchestra
Bernard Haitink, Conductor
Murray Perahia, Piano


PURCELL / STEVEN STUCKY Funeral Music for Queen Mary
SCHUMANN Piano Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No. 4
“The synergy between any conductor and orchestra is always something of a mystery to outsiders, but the rapport between this pair is unmistakable,” proclaimed The Boston Globe of this esteemed orchestra and its conductor laureate, the legendary Bernard Haitink. Experience this remarkable connection for yourself when they return to Carnegie Hall for a program of works from the Romantic period by Schumann and Brahms, paired with Purcell / Steven Stucky Funeral Music for Queen Mary.


Brahms's Symphony No. 4 (Allegro giocoso)

Boston Symphony Orchestra | Bernard Haitink, Conductor

Kronos Quartet and Friends

40th Anniversary Celebration

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Friday, March 28, 2014 | 8 PM


Kronos Quartet
·· David Harrington, Violin
·· John Sherba, Violin
·· Hank Dutt, Viola
·· Sunny Yang, Cello
Bryce Dessner, Guitar
Wu Man, Pipa
Jherek Bischoff, Bass Guitar
Musicians from Face the Music
Brooklyn Youth Chorus
Dianne Berkun-Menaker, Artistic Director


BRYCE DESSNER Aheym (Homeward)
TRAD. "Tusen Tankar" ("A Thousand Thoughts") (arr. Kronos Quartet, trans. Ljova)
WILEY "Last Kind Words" (arr. Jacob Garchik)
OMAR SOULEYMAN "La Sidounak Sayyada" ("I'll Prevent the Hunters from Hunting You") (arr. Jacob Garchik)
TERRY RILEY The Serquent Risadome (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
BRISEÑO "El Sinaloense" ("The Man from Sinaloa") (arr. Osvaldo Golijov)
LAURIE ANDERSON "Flow" (arr. Jacob Garchik)
PHILIP GLASS Orion: China (arr. Michael Riesman) (NY Premiere)
JHEREK BISCHOFF A Semiperfect Number
CLINT MANSELL "Lux Aeterna" from Requiem for a Dream (arr. David Lang)
CLINT MANSELL "Death Is the Road to Awe" from The Fountain (arr. Kronos Quartet)

HENDRIX "Purple Haze" (arr. Kronos Quartet)
Since its inception, the Kronos Quartet has combined a spirit of fearless exploration with a commitment to expand the range and context of the string quartet. In the process, Kronos has become one of the most celebrated and influential groups of our time, collaborating with many of the world's most eclectic composers and performers. Kronos returns to Carnegie Hall with several special guests to celebrate its 40th anniversary, performing commissioned works by favorite composers and collaborators, including a world premiere and Carnegie Hall commission by Terry Riley, a New York premiere by Philip Glass, plus works by Laurie Anderson, Jherek Bischoff, Clint Mansell, and others. The celebration also includes the world premiere of a short film by Sam Green.

This concert is part of My Time, My Music.


Bryce Dessner's Aheym

Kronos Quartet
Anti, Inc.

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage
Sunday, May 18, 2014 | 2 PM


Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
Mariss Jansons, Chief Conductor
Gil Shaham, Violin


LIGETI Atmosphères
BERG Violin Concerto
BRAHMS Symphony No. 2

LIGETI Concert Românesc
The “formidable technique and dynamism” (The New York Times) of podium personality Mariss Jansons is on full display in this concert of orchestral works that run the emotional gamut. Jansons leads his Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra in a performance of Brahms’s pastoral Second symphony and Ligeti’s Atmosphères, evoking a sense of timelessness in a web of dense sound textures and tonality. The orchestra is also joined by Gil Shaham for Berg’s Violin Concerto, which combines tonal style with 12-tone technique to examine life, death, and transfiguration.


Brahms's Symphony No. 2 (Allegretto grazioso (quasi andantino))

Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra | Maris Jansons, Conductor
Br Klassik