Carnegie Hall Presents

Fast Forward

Visionary performers and groundbreaking composers of the 20th and 21st centuries make this series an invigorating experience for adventurous ears. The American Composers Orchestra brings incomparable innovation and sophistication to the Zankel Hall stage, while eighth blackbird’s rock band energy and virtuosity offer plenty of thrills. Sō Percussion has redefined the modern percussion ensemble, and Kronos Quartet continues to blaze trails as the superstars of new music.
October 23, 2015
American Composers Orchestra
January 18, 2016
eighth blackbird
February 12, 2016
So Percussion
April 2, 2016
Kronos Quartet

American Composers Orchestra

Orchestra Underground: 21st Firsts

Zankel Hall
Friday, October 23, 2015 | 7:30 PM


American Composers Orchestra
George Manahan, Music Director and Conductor
Caroline Shaw, Voice
Hannah Lash, Harp
Paul Lieber, Projections


MICHAEL-THOMAS FOUMAI The Spider Thread (World Premiere)
MELODY EÖTVÖS Red Dirt | Silver Rain (World Premiere)
HANNAH LASH Concerto for Harp and Chamber Orchestra (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall with support from The Cheswatyr Foundation)
JUDAH ADASHI Sestina for Voice and Orchestra (World Premiere)
CONRAD WINSLOW Joint Account for Orchestra and Video (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
Concerts by the American Composers Orchestra “are always fascinating … frequently exhilarating forays into recent music—or music that was written decades ago but is still fresh” (Newsday). The standard-bearing new-music orchestra presents world premieres—two commissioned by Carnegie Hall—composed by visionary young artists.

eighth blackbird

Zankel Hall
Monday, January 18, 2016 | 7:30 PM


eighth blackbird
·· Nathalie Joachim, Flute
·· Michael J. Maccaferri, Clarinet
·· Yvonne Lam, Violin and Viola
·· Nicholas Photinos, Cello
·· Matthew Duvall, Percussion
·· Lisa Kaplan, Piano
Stage Design by Deborah Johnson for CandyStations


SLEEPING GIANT Hand Eye (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
·· ANDREW NORMAN Mine, Mime, Meme
·· TIMO ANDRES Checkered Shade
·· TED HEARNE By-By Huey
Three-time Grammy-winning instrumental sextet eighth blackbird has quickly developed a “reputation for brilliant and engaging performances” (The Dallas Morning News), leading The New York Times to ask, “What ambitious and skillful young composer wouldn’t jump at the chance to write for a group whose professionalism and proficiency is amplified by that indefinable X factor, charisma?” Sleeping Giant, a collective of six young American composers (Timo Andres, Christopher Cerrone, Jacob Cooper, Ted Hearne, Robert Honstein, and Andrew Norman) has created six pieces, each highlighting a different sound world that together comprise the full-length Hand Eye.

So Percussion

Zankel Hall
Friday, February 12, 2016 | 9 PM


So Percussion
·· Eric Cha-Beach
·· Josh Quillen
·· Adam Sliwinski
·· Jason Treuting
Shara Worden, Voice
Glenn Kotche, Percussion


GLENN KOTCHE Drumkit Quartets
·· #50 (Leffinge, Chicago)
·· #54 (Vienna)
·· #51 (Tokyo, Brisbane, Berlin) (with Yuka Honda, Voice)
·· #3 Movement III (Minneapolis, Chicago)
GLENN KOTCHE Migrations (World Premiere, commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
GLENN KOTCHE Drumkit Quartet #1 (Los Angeles, Russell, Auckland)
STEVEN MACKEY Before It Is Time (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
SO PERCUSSION / SHARA WORDEN Timeline (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
“Through a mix of consummate skill and quirky charm, this mercurial quartet has helped to ignite an explosive new enthusiasm for percussion music old and new,” says The New York Times about Sō Percussion. This program includes a new piece by Wilco drummer Glenn Kotche, whose works combine impeccable rhythms with fleeting, haunting melodies. “The range of colors and voices that Sō Percussion coaxes from its menagerie is astonishing and entrancing” (Billboard).

Part of Late Nights at Zankel Hall.

Kronos Quartet

Zankel Hall
Saturday, April 2, 2016 | 7:30 PM


Kronos Quartet
·· David Harrington, Violin
·· John Sherba, Violin
·· Hank Dutt, Viola
·· Sunny Yang, Cello
with Special Guest
Ritva Koistinen, Kantele
Philip White, Electronics


ALEKSANDRA VREBALOV My Desert, My Rose (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
NICOLE LIZÉE The Golden Age of the Radiophonic Workshop [Fibre-Optic Flowers] (NY Premiere)
N. RAJAM Dadra in Raga Bhairavi (arr. Reena Esmail) (NY Premiere)
WU MAN "Ancient Echo" from Four Chinese Paintings (arr. Danny Clay) (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
KARIN REHNQVIST All Those Strings! (NY Premiere)
YOTAM HABER break_break_break (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
FODÉ LASSANA DIABATÉ "Bara kala ta" from Sunjata's Time (arr. Jacob Garchik) (NY Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)
PETE TOWNSHEND Baba O'Riley (arr. Jacob Garchik) (NY Premiere)
ALBERT BEHAR Lost Wax (NY Premiere)

GEESHIE WILEY "Last Kind Words" (arr. Jacob Garchik)
The ever daring, never boring Kronos Quartet presents a program of exciting new works. Karin Rehnqvist’s All Those Strings! features the sounds of 54 strings—38 of them on an ancient Finnish zither called the kantele. There is also a new work by Fodé Lassana Diabaté, Mali's most gifted balafon (wooden xylophone) player. To complete the program, Kronos gives the world premieres of two new works from its Fifty for the Future project, which is devoted to the most contemporary approaches to the string quartet. As The New York Times has said, “the ensemble . . . has revolutionized the approach to string quartet repertory."



Kronos Quartet