Upcoming Events

No results found.

Top Results

No results found.

Medal of Excellence

Carnegie Hall is proud to award the Medal of Excellence to a distinguished member of the business community in recognition of their remarkable commitment to philanthropy and their dedication and partnership with the arts. Since 2006, the Medal of Excellence has honored a leader whose accomplishments in the corporate sector complement Carnegie Hall’s stature as one of the premier performance venues in the world. Each gala features an award ceremony and an exclusive intimate performance by a special musical artist. Previous performers include Sir Elton John, Tony Bennett, Audra McDonald, Keith Urban, Julio Iglesias, Denyce Graves, and Vittorio Grigolo.

Previous Honorees

2021: Anne M. Finucane, Vice Chairman, Bank of America
2021: James P. Gorman, Chairman and CEO, Morgan Stanley
2019: Vartan Gregorian, President, Carnegie Corporation of New York
2017: Adrienne Arsht, philanthropist
2015: Sanford I. Weill, Chairman Emeritus, Citigroup
2014: Oscar de la Renta, legendary fashion icon
2013: Robert K. Kraft, Founder, Chairman and CEO, The Kraft Group
2012: Bill Cunningham, fashion archivist and photographer
2010: Henry T. Segerstrom, Managing Partner, C.J. Segerstrom & Sons.
    For more information on Henry T. Segerstrom’s legacy, visit henrysegerstrom.com.
2008: Terry J. Lundgren, Chairman, President and CEO, Macy’s, Inc.
2007: Richard S. Fuld, Jr., Chairman and CEO, Lehman Brothers
2006: Kenneth D. Lewis, Chairman, CEO and President, Bank of America

For more information on the next Medal of Excellence Gala as it is announced, join our mailing list by sending your name and mailing address to the Special Events Office at specialevents@carnegiehall.org.

Honoree: Anne M. Finucane

On November 10, 2021, Carnegie Hall was delighted to present its 12th Medal of Excellence to Anne M. Finucane, Vice Chairman Bank of America, featuring a performance by Audra McDonald. The entire evening was a meaningful and personal tribute to Anne, Bank of America, and their shared dedication to Carnegie Hall and the global arts community. We extend our greatest thanks to Honorary Gala Chair Caroline Kennedy, and Gala Chairs Dina Powell McCormick, Brian Moynihan, Clarke Murphy, Robert F. Smith, Sherrese Clarke Soares, Sir Martin Sorrell, and Sanford I. Weill.

Photography by Julie Skarratt.

Honoree: James P. Gorman

On May 6, 2021, Carnegie Hall proudly awarded the 11th Medal of Excellence to James P. Gorman, Chairman and CEO of Morgan Stanley, in a virtual gala celebration. Under James’ leadership, Morgan Stanley has remained steadfast in philanthropic support of the arts, culture, and the health and education of children. Morgan Stanley has supported Carnegie Hall for 45 years, maintaining a relationship that is among the longest-running corporate partnerships in the Hall’s history and helping to bring the transformative power of music around the globe.

The virtual gala included a moving tribute to James and Morgan Stanley, during which—thanks to the magic of technology—James accepted his award on the virtual stage of Carnegie Hall. We extend our greatest thanks to Gala Chairs Andy Saperstein, Mark D. Eichorn, Richard and Barbara Debs, and Hope and Robert F. Smith, as well as Gala Sponsors Vista Equity Partners and Morgan Stanley.

Honoree: Vartan Gregorian

On June 10, 2019, Carnegie Hall was thrilled to award its 10th Medal of Excellence to a pillar of our community and face of philanthropy and education in America: Vartan Gregorian. This was a beautiful evening dedicated to the great accomplishments of this remarkable and inspiring man, and it was very meaningful to have so many of the organizations and lives he has touched over the course of his life and career with us to share in the celebration. We extend our greatest thanks to Gala Chairmen Committee members Robert F. Smith, Sanford I. Weill, Shahla and Hushang Ansary, Marina Kellen French, Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation, Stavros Niarchos Foundation, and Beatrice Santo Domingo, as well as to our Honorary Chairmen, Richard A. Debs and James D. Wolfensohn.

Stay Up to Date