New Music at Carnegie Hall: Carnegie Hall Commissions
About The Composers

Aviya Kopelman

Carnegie Hall Commissions
Related Links

Aviya Kopelman was selected as the recipient of the fourth commission offered through the Kronos: Under 30 Project. Begun in 2003, the Kronos: Under 30 Project is a commissioning and residency program for composers under 30 years of age, created to acknowledge the 30th anniversary of the founding of the Kronos Quartet. The program supports the creation of new work by young artists, and helps Kronos cultivate stronger connections with young composers in order to develop lasting artistic relationships with the next creative generation.

Kopelman was born in Moscow in 1978 and immigrated to Israel in 1987. She began taking piano lessons on her own initiative at the age of 12. She graduated from the Rubin Music Academy in Jerusalem, where she studied composition with Tzvi Avni. In 2000, she was commissioned by composer Michael Wolpe to write a string quartet for the Sounds in the Desert Festival; her works have since been performed regularly in Israel and abroad by the Israel Chamber Orchestra, The Israel Camerata, Tel Aviv Chamber Choir, Conjunto Iberico Octet, Ensemble de la Paix, Les Solistes de Waterloo, and Jerusalem Trio, among others. Last year she was commissioned to write an obligatory work for the 12th Arthur Rubinstein International Piano Master Competition. She has worked with and been influenced by composers such as Andre Hajdu, Oded Zehavi, and Ronen Shapira. Kopelman teaches composition at the Hed College for Music in Tel Aviv and at the Rimon School of Jazz and Contemporary Music.